Makeup

How to Use Kryolan’s TV Paint Stick and Full Review!

Kryolan TV Paint Stick
Author
User
  • Texture 10 out of 10
  • Application 8 out of 10
  • Finish 8 out of 10
  • Longevity 10 out of 10
  • Value 10 out of 10
By 

Kryolan’s Tv Paint Sticks has been used in the Middle East for quite sometime – brides, party makeup, photo shoots, sets and even even everyday. It’s very popular and loved by many.  What is it about Kryolan’s Tv Paint stick that makes it so popular?  Well firstly, it’s the coverage.  It provides a medium to full coverage that is long lasting.  It’s also not expensive and 1 tube will last you at least 1 year.

I find Kryolan Colors difficlut to match, you may lucky where you can match your skin to 1 color most cases you need two colors mixed to create the perfect shade.  Kryolan online has over 250 colors! But I’ve checked in London, Pakistan, Toronto and in Saudi at the Kryolan Store and at most they would carry 20 colors which sucks!

IMG_5124

These are the colors I use most and would recommend for Arabs/Asians

IMG_5125

IMG_5126

I use these two for mixing if I have a darker brown/tanned skin tone client

IMG_5127

TV Paint Stick is a very versatile product it can be used in so many different ways. Since it’s a heavy cream stick foundation you need to prep your skin well.  Apply a moisturizer suitable for your skin type and then apply a primer before you use the foundation.  Use a very little of the product for a gentle make-up application that still gives effective coverage or layer it on generously for a full coverage.

IMG_5128(1)

IMG_5129

Kryolan also has some popular color correcting shades.  Here is #508 which is an orange used on top of dark areas but under foundation.  The orange cancels out the blue/brown of the dark under eye or spot so when you apply the foundation on top it doesn’t look grey and naturally makes them appear less obvious if not totally gone! I use the white (which I got recently) to mix when I want the foundation to be a bit lighter around the eye areas especially when I’m doing a full face contour and highlight.

The TV Paint Stick has a kind of wet consistency so it does need a powder on top to set it, as it is not matte and to avoid it creasing.  By setting it with a light powder it will seal in the foundation and allow it to last literally all day, even in hot climates.  I like that the foundation does not oxidize, so the color you apply is the color you get.  If you have acne prone skin then be careful with this product as it may cause breakouts.  Since its such a full coverage it doesn’t let the skin breath unless you use a very little. I love using MAC’s Minearlized Skinfinish Powder on top of the TV Paint Stick.

IMG_5130

Pros

  • Affordable
  • Long Lasting
  • Excellent Coverage
  • Multipurpose
  • No Need for a concealer since it provides full coverage
  • A little goes a long way
  • Doesn’t oxidize

 

Cons

  • It may cause breakouts
  • Need to mix colors (in most cases) to find the perfect match
  • Can get cakey

How To Use

  1. Prep your skin with a moisturizer suitable for you skin type and then a primer.
  2. TV Paint Stick can be applied with a damp sponge (beauty blender), foundation brush or your fingers.  I like it best with fingers as the warmth of the fingers helps to melt the product so it glides on easier and sits closer to the skin.
  3. Start at the center of the face and blend the product outwards
  4. Set with a Light Powder (since the foundation is already full coverage the powder should be lightweight)

 

Pro Tricks

From my experience the best way to apply the TV Paint Stick is to dilute it.  I use two products to do this – Kryolan’s Makeup Blend or MAC Face & Body Foundation.  First use your finger/sponge/brush and apply the Makeup Blend then take some of the TV paint stick – it will immediately become a liquid.  The liquid is still full coverage but blends better, sits on the skin well and looks way more natural.  You will use way less product as well!

IMG_5123

IMG_5132

Application with the Kryolan Makeup Blend

IMG_5134

Here’s the product blended in.  As you can see you need very little of the product with the Makeup Blend and it blends in like a full coverage foundation.  It’s less cakey and sits well on the skin. Try it, you’ll love it!

 

If you use TV Paint Sticks, share the color you use, how you apply it and any comments/questions below! Would love to hear from you. 

63 Comments

  1. Shamila

    February 7, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    Can u plz tell me I have very dry skin how I can apply , this stick is ver dry

    • Faiza

      June 4, 2015 at 3:30 pm

      Hi I use it with a wet sponge which makes it easier to apply

      • SAIRA

        July 21, 2016 at 6:23 pm

        HEY FAIZA
        PLS TELL ME WHAT NUMBER I SHOULD USE FOR FOUNDATION SINCE I AM BEIGE (MEDIUM) SKIN TONE AND I HAVE DARK CIRCLES.
        SHOULD I USE ORIENTAL AS TO COVER DARK CIRCLES AND THEN PUT FOUNDATION?

    • Zahra

      February 11, 2016 at 12:55 am

      Firstly cleansing ur skin
      Rub with paper
      Use F1 tv paint stick

    • sheeza

      May 24, 2016 at 8:56 pm

      Well if you have a dry skin so before using this stick apply any best moistuirizer on your skin then apply stick all over your face

  2. Paula

    February 7, 2015 at 9:09 pm

    Can u plz tell me I have very dry skin how I can apply , this stick is ver dry.and i have open pores also

    • Zahra

      February 11, 2016 at 12:57 am

      Firstly cleansing ur skin
      Rub with paper
      Use F1 tv paint stick

      • Sadaf Hussain

        June 7, 2016 at 2:55 pm

        I also have dry skin. I use moisturiser and then primer base before applying kryolan stick foundation. It gives excellent coverage and glowing skin

    • Enam haque

      April 7, 2016 at 9:10 am

      Nice

      • Enam haque

        April 7, 2016 at 9:12 am

        Be wet yes I think good

    • sheeza

      May 24, 2016 at 8:59 pm

      OK if you have a problem of open pores just same like me so u should apply stick with a foundation brush on apply stick with a brush clockwise n anticlockwise on your checks so it makes your pores invisible I also used this trick

  3. Naz

    February 7, 2015 at 10:24 pm

    hi,

    do you know what colour would match closer to Nars Punjab foundation? its very difficult to make out the exact colour swatches online. Thanks 🙂

  4. najia

    February 7, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    I had been using kryolan for a while
    as a concealor as I have horrible dark circles. I used fs36 and the orrange corrector but no matter how much I
    powdered by the end it use to crack. Now I have been using revlon colorstay foundation and concealor
    after reading ur article and the results are amazing. The concealor islight and doesnt crack.

    • Saba

      February 24, 2016 at 9:48 pm

      Which concealer no u r uding

  5. Shabana

    February 8, 2015 at 1:41 am

    Great review Nilo! I have been using the TV paint sticks for some months now, for myself but also on brides. It gives great coverage! I also set it with Mac Mineralized skinfinish powder. I mostly use FS 36 and FS 38. I apply it with the real techniques face expert brush. I have recently purchased supracolor, this has the same consistancy but more easy to blend. I use this for clients with a dry skin. I think Kryolan tv paint sticks are great for a foundation and not very expensive, so excellent products!

  6. shazia

    February 8, 2015 at 2:19 am

    AMAZING review. The pro tips are priceless !! there is such a lack of info online about these paint sticks and you just nailed it ! thanks nilo !

  7. Afra

    February 8, 2015 at 6:43 am

    I personally love kryolan sticks.I love the coverage and use it for bridal work.Oriental is also a good color for darker skin tones and sometimes u wont need the 508 orange corrector and Oriental will do a pretty good job on its own. think of it as having ”salmon” undertones hence conceal/corrects perfectly, especially for those use using FS36 FS38. You can also mix FS36 and Oriental to get shades for those that are NW35 in MAC. Oriental does a good job to conceal/correct darkness around the mouth, on eyelids too! Another really good color is ELO , similar to FS38 which has more pink undertones , whereas ELO has more yellow undertones. Another really good shade to have is 5W for those using FS36 & Oriental…. for highlighting. And for those using FS38, they can highlight either with ivory or 1W.
    I have heard they have airbrush foundations that are very good too. Havnt had a chance to try them but wish some one can do a review on them too!

  8. shehrzad

    February 8, 2015 at 11:13 am

    I always have a tv paint stick in my stash even I am not using it very often.It is so very multi purpose.i didntknow about the orange shade.Will definitly try it now.Thankyou .Great posts xoxo

  9. maham

    February 8, 2015 at 11:54 am

    I use these sticks on my clients who want long lasting and full coverage foundation. I have fs36 fs38 f17 ivory and chinese but i mostly use ivory and chinese mostly in every asian skin tone and differ the ratio of two sticks i think it gives a very flaw less fresh look to the skin and on aging skin i dont use powder after applying stick it makes the wrinkles more visible

    • zara

      November 23, 2015 at 5:18 am

      hi…maham i use ivory …..plz suggest me which is best for me concelr for hide my dark cricle and patchesfs36 orfs38

  10. Sofia

    February 8, 2015 at 3:27 pm

    Hi I use fs45 but my skin shade is a couple shades lighter because wen applying the shade isn’t as light as it looks. What other colour(s) would u recommend? Thanks

  11. nikki.kriplani

    February 10, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    I am using this product since last 6yrs.i use it every day. My no.is FS 42.i cant do without kryolan..amazing.

    • nazia majeed

      February 18, 2015 at 5:21 pm

      Dear ..i have heard using it everyday isnt good for ur skin..plz tell me about ur experience

    • sarah

      July 5, 2015 at 6:34 pm

      I wear nc 25 which shade you think should I buy
      Thank you

  12. Samra

    February 10, 2015 at 4:00 pm

    I m using the shade f1 for highlighting my under eye,nose and chin! It’s jus 2 shades brighter than my skin tone! What shade should I use with it for contours!

    P.s I normally don’t wear to much foundation

  13. nazia majeed

    February 18, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    Can someone pls tell me which is the best shade for contouring..i am nc 40 in mac and somewhere in btw fs 36 and 38 in krylon

  14. Dr. Saba

    April 26, 2015 at 4:19 pm

    Hi can you please tell me where is the outlet for krylon in jeddah thanks

  15. ujalaparri

    May 9, 2015 at 8:56 am

    i have dry skin pl tell ma how to apply tv stick in my face

  16. Faiza

    June 4, 2015 at 3:33 pm

    I use it with a wet sponge.. Makes it easier to apply

  17. Jovana

    July 19, 2015 at 7:50 pm

    Thanks for the tip <3 Yes, there's not a lot info about this product. I used to love it during my makeup course… And after I bought it and used it not so much… Probably cause of the little next to none setting for my dry-ish face… It creases, sits in the pores…. And than I remembered I used it with Kryolan translucent powder. Could that be the solution!? As I remeber, the powder is so comfy to wear and not drying at all.

  18. Ana

    July 23, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    Yoy mention the orange and white stick can i use orange as concealer and white as hilighter

  19. kubra

    July 27, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    Which TV stick should I use on medium coloured skin to cover acne and dark spots

  20. Sehrish

    July 29, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    What shade do I need to buy if I am nc35 in Mac?

  21. mahwish

    August 4, 2015 at 9:07 am

    please suggest a good shade of tv paint stick for contouring??? ivory,GG,F1 which shade is good for fair complexion?

  22. beena

    August 28, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    hi I use stick it gvez lovely coverage but I jave only one problem if I touch my face it get off very easily can u suggest me what to do al so after few hours it looks like my foundation is coming off

  23. hafsa

    September 23, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    Can someone suggest me a good shade of TV paint stick? I don’t know which one is better. When ever I buy and apply to my face my colour look more dark , I think the reason is not choosing the right number. I am not much white. My colour is normal. Neither much black nor much white. It’s brown. Normal skin like most of the peoples have. Suggest me stick for normal colour??

  24. Attiya

    October 19, 2015 at 11:03 am

    I’ve used the product at the trining and I loved it. I want to buy it for myself could you please tell me where can I buy it from? Thanks

  25. Ellie

    November 12, 2015 at 12:01 pm

    Hi!

    Thanks for your informative post!

    I have been using a combination of OB2 and FS45 (both of which were recommended to me) — whilst I love the TV Paint Stick, neither colour seem to be quite right. I’m Asian so skin tone is yellow — the OB2 looks quite orange/pink, the FS45 perhaps a shade (or two) too light.

    I have been thinking of purchasing FS38 or FS36 but am not sure (1) which is darker than FS45 and (2) whether either of them are suitable for yellow skin tone. I have also read on other blogs that the ELO (Kryolan Ultra Foundation) might be more suitable than FS38 as the ELO has more of a yellow base while FS38 has pink undertones…? Does this mean I should rule out the FS38 and perhaps decide between FS36 and ELO? I have not tried the Ultra Foundation range so not even sure what the coverage is like or how easy it is to apply… The there’s the Chinese colour, which I had not even considered!

    I’m so confused : / Would love to hear your thoughts or any advice you might be able to offer!

    Thanks in advance!

  26. Adeeba Habib

    November 18, 2015 at 10:27 pm

    can we use 4 w shade instead of FS 38

  27. Rehana

    November 21, 2015 at 12:12 pm

    My advice for using the kryolan paint sticks easily is:
    1. Buy a softer cream foundation in a similar colour like Ben nye or graftobian.
    2. Scoop out the whole of your kryolan foundation and mash with a fork or spatula.
    3. Scoop out the soft cream foundation, mix and mash with kryolan.
    4. Store it in a small container with a lid or use the empty containers from the soft creams.
    5. Try it on with a wet sponge and you will have an easily bendable foundation giving you a natural flawless finish to the skin.
    6. Set with either the colourless translucent powder or the famous Ben nye banana powder suitable for most asian skin tones.

  28. romesa

    November 23, 2015 at 5:25 am

    hi….m using ivory tv stik plz suggest me which is best for concelr to hide my dark circle and patches FS36 OR FS38

  29. selina

    January 14, 2016 at 2:02 am

    Hi i am a shade nc30 in mac. So whAt shade would be for the kryolan sticks?.

    • Madiha

      June 9, 2016 at 11:43 am

      i use ivory and fs38

  30. sona

    January 29, 2016 at 11:56 am

    Yr plz ye btao TV stick ka f1 nmbr ks skn k lye h ye bst h ya ivorey clr

    • Saffa

      April 18, 2016 at 6:30 am

      Ya 2no fair skin k liey best han

  31. Sabs

    February 23, 2016 at 11:05 pm

    I am using f1 and 3w on my face.. what no.i should use as concealer..

  32. Saba

    February 23, 2016 at 11:06 pm

    And blending spounch are good for face base blending or brushes will be better?

  33. Fatima

    May 22, 2016 at 5:56 am

    I am the color Linen 021 in dior Nude foundation, # 127 in Makeup forever stick foundation and NC 25 in mac foundation. I can’t figure out what shade I would be in the Kryolan foundation. I have dry skin but im not too worried about then since i will be prepping my skin with a good moisurizer.

  34. Shania

    July 1, 2016 at 9:02 pm

    Hey, I am using ivory but sometimes it feels a lot more whiter for me. Its not that I have dark skin. I have fair and acne proned skin. Please recommend which colour should I use?

  35. Lou

    July 25, 2016 at 12:38 am

    Hi
    I use illamasqua skin base SB 6.5
    Or
    Clinique 03
    What shade would I need in this make

  36. Erum

    August 19, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    Where can I buy these sticks in store in Mississauga ?

  37. M.Ali

    August 31, 2016 at 2:39 pm

    Hi can I mix fs 36and fs 38 for a medium to dark skintone?
    Or fs 45 and fs 36 combo?
    Im confused whether to buy fs 38 or fs 45? Which is lighter?

  38. nabila asif

    October 5, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    plz tel me which base colour is perfect for mediem skin tone & fair colour tone

  39. Madiha

    October 26, 2016 at 9:28 am

    You plz tell which TV pain stick is best for perfect makeup plz tell me names of selective TV pain stick my skin is sensitive and dry

  40. Nabah

    November 3, 2016 at 1:39 pm

    Hey ! I use the tv paint stick but it stays on my skin only for an hour r less .. what should i do so that it may last for long ??

  41. Hushnayara begum

    November 20, 2016 at 1:45 pm

    Hey I’m an nc 40 in mac can you please tell me what shade i would be.

  42. shiza shahid

    November 26, 2016 at 12:34 am

    mere skin fair medium he me kon c use kro or skin normal he na itni dry or na hi itni oily

  43. Gerel

    November 29, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    Hi. I use Mac N15, if i choose kryolin, which shade do you suggest? I am asian.

    • Syl

      December 17, 2016 at 6:00 am

      If you are MAC NC 15 , then you’ll match Ivory

  44. saba

    January 4, 2017 at 9:08 pm

    Its superb!

  45. Bhavna

    January 4, 2017 at 11:05 pm

    Hi! Just wanted to know how do i restore the these krylon foundation palate as it has dried it ! M using d cake foundation palate.

  46. ka

    January 11, 2017 at 8:10 am

    hi guys,I have been looking at the ingredients used to make this foundation. .grey use carmine which is crushed beetles.So I don’t think it’s halal

  47. TJ

    January 16, 2017 at 9:12 am

    I luv it, i am using 4 colors that u show, for different occassions/events. Wedges sponges are good for it and loose powder.♡..& no need of concealer.

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please choose the rating if this is a review, otherwise choose "This is not a review".
This is not a review